Oregon – Marijuana sales for recreational use began in Oregon on Thursday as it joined Washington state and Colorado in allowing the sale of a drug that remains illegal under US federal law.
Oregon residents 21 years and older can buy up to a quarter-ounce (seven grams) of dried pot at roughly 200 existing medical-use marijuana dispensaries as a new law took effect. Medical marijuana has been legal since 1998.
Recreational sales in Oregon will be untaxed through the rest of this year, with a sales tax of 25% set to be added in January after regulators determine the framework for taxing recreational pot. When that framework is finalized, the state is likely to receive a boost in tax revenues. In Colorado, where recreational sales have been legal since the start of 2014, the state collected more money in marijuana taxes in its last fiscal year than it did from taxes on alcohol sales, with a chunk of the cash coming from an excise tax earmarked for public school construction projects.
Here’s a map of all the dispensaries.
But it won’t be for sale in many Oregon cities, and here’s the list. In many towns, marijuana remains shunned by the majority and is seen as something that shouldn’t be given any official stamp of approval.
If you do plan to go shopping, here are five things you should know. They include bring cash, the shops don’t take debit or credit, and bring an ID, because you must be at least 21 years old to purchase pot.